Society for Health Communication

The Society for Health Communication is a member-driven organization bringing together health communication professionals, students, and scholars from all of our diverse areas of teaching, research and practice.

By uniting our members, we're building a unified voice to shape and advance our field. We are an international organization, based in the USA, serving members from all countries.

Our steering committee is comprised of many of today's leading health communication practitioners, researchers, and thought leaders.

Jay M. Bernhardt

Dean, Moody College of Communication, The University of Texas at Austin
Founding Director, Center for Health Communication
Walter Cronkite Regents Chair | Everett D. Collier Centennial Chair

Dr. Jay Bernhardt is the 6th Dean of the Moody College of Communication at The University of Texas at Austin, one of the largest and highest ranked colleges of communication in the country. He is recognized internationally as a visionary leader, respected scholar, and innovative scientist in the application of communication, marketing, media to public health, healthcare, and medicine. Dr. Bernhardt serves on numerous national boards and four editorial boards. He is a member of six honor societies and and has received numerous awards for his scholarship and leadership.

Erin Edgerton Norvell

Founder and Principal Strategist, Digital Edge Communications
Executive Director, Society for Health Communication

I am a senior health marketing and communication professional with more than 10 years of experience working with mission-driven organizations to develop and implement innovative communication strategies that improve public health and safety, raise awareness for critical public health issues, and integrate digital and traditional media channels for maximum health impact. I'm also a champion for innovation and experienced in fostering strategic internal and external partnerships.

Skip to toolbar